Potato Salad (not really salad, but yeah)

Not so much salad as one would think when the word ‘salad’ is thrown, this recipe has no lettuce or even any vegetables in it, except for potatoes and spring onions. But it is my favourite because it has all my favourite ingredients and it is so very easy to make.

This recipe was taught to me by a good friend of mine in college, back when we were living in college chalets with no kitchen to work in. I did however, bring a kettle and rice cooker because I could not stand eating the same weekly crap served in the cafeteria.

It was my first time using a kettle to boil eggs and I was really scared about it but my friend reassured me that it was not going to be an issue. We used the rice cooker to boil the potatoes (which was also a first for me). If I am not mistaken, we used blade to peel and cut the potatoes because we did not have knife at the time but well, you’d get creative when you have to, right?

The rest is as per the recipe below:

INGREDIENTS
Potatoes (however many you wish)
Eggs (I usually use two per 6~8 small potatoes, but it’s up to you how eggy you’d like your potato salad to be)
Mayonnaise(as much as would cover your potatoes)
Spring onions (sprinkle generously if you love them to bits like I do)

DIRECTIONS
1. Boil potatoes till they are cooked through. I don’t time them so I can’t say specifically, but I would advise poking the potatoes to gauge whether they’re cooked enough or not. Depending on your own preference, it might not be such a good idea to let them be overly-cooked as they would be way too mushy to retain their shape and texture when you mix them with the other ingredients later.

2. Take the potatoes out when they are ready and wash them through with water to facilitate quicker cooking as you would then be able to peel the skin faster. You might want to omit this step if you feel peeling off the skin is easier when the potatoes are hot.

3. Peel the potatoes and then cut them into bite-sized shape or however you like.

4. Boil the eggs until they turn hard-boiled. This you can do at the same time as when you are boiling the potatoes, if it is possible to do so.

5. Peel off the eggs and mashed them.

6. Mix mayonnaise into the mashed eggs and combine with the bite-sized potatoes.

7. Sprinkle spring onions and mix them all well. And that’s it, you’re done!

Another thing worth noting is that Japanese mayonnaise Kewpie is better than any other mayonnaise I have tried before, so you might want to try using that brand when making this simple potato salad.

Although I have never tried making it myself, I think it would be awesome to fry some beef strips or the like to combine with the potato salad, because I have tried this version in some restaurants in Malaysia. The crispiness would be a perfect complement to the otherwise mild tasting potato salad.

The only thing you wouldn’t want to think about when making this recipe is the calories! I only consume this as a main meal and as a last resort when there is not a lot of ingredients I have at hand.

Leave a Reply

